Brown Butter, Sea Salted, Chocolate Chip Cookies

Nothing says thank you, congratulations, welcome to the neighborhood, or I love you better than some chocolate chip cookies. A couple of days this past week I stayed at my sister and her boyfriend’s apartment, mostly because I was too hungover to leave, we had too much Bravo to watch, & her kitchen is much better than mine. I also had president’s day off (while they both worked), so before I left that night during a big snowstorm, I thought I would leave them a nice “Thank You” treat. Since I had this fancy kitchen to work with, regular chocolate chip cookies just wouldn’t cut it. With my sweet/salty constant cravings, it was only right to add a salty factor — and then I remembered seeing somewhere Brown Butter, Chocolate Chip cookies with Sea Salt on top. I went straight to my recipe book (Google), and rummaged through recipes until I found one that looked simple and not overly complicated.

The brown butter is really easy to make (as I have made it for many pasta dishes), and this blog actually gives you step by step instructions if you need them.

Brown Butter, Sea Salted, Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks (1 cup) butter

1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon Fleur de Sel or sea salt

One 10-ounce bag chocolate chips

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. and line a large baking sheet with a silpat liner or parchment paper

2.  Place butter into a medium saucepan over medium heat, swirling pan to melt.  Once melted watch carefully.  Butter will foam, boil then little brown bits will start to form around sides and bottom of pan.  Once butter turns a golden brown and has a very nutty aroma, remove from heat.  I transfer mine to a bowl so cooking stops.  Let cool for 5 minutes.

3.  Place both sugars into stand or electric mixer.  Add brown butter and mix until well combined.  Add eggs and vanilla, mixing until well combined.  Place flour, baking soda and Fleur de Sel/sea salt into a large bowl.  Slowly add to wet ingredients then add in chocolate chips, mixing until just combined.  Scoop dough onto prepared baking sheet with a medium sized cookie scoop and sprinkle tops with additional Fleur de Sel/sea salt.  Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, until cooked through.  Let cool for 5 minutes then transfer to cooling rack.

So yummy, I brought half home for Eric (who ate the whole batch that night) and got great reviews from Chris & Alexis. I just recommended these to a friend dealing with a grouchy new neighbor – kill them with kindness & these cookies :)!

Brown-Buttered-Fleur-de-Sel-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies-3 photo (1)

Leave a Reply

