The Gooeyest Pecan Pie Bars

I am addicted to anything with nuts…let me rephrase. I mean I am addicted any food that has nuts in the ingredient list. I thank my heavenly stars that I was not born with a nut allergy. So if you are like me, and enjoy a dessert with nuts, then you must love Pecan Pie. I have made a standard Pecan Pie a couple of times before, once it was perfection, and the other time was too difficult to chew. I have been on a mission for the perfect Pecan dessert combo — this is it. It is half, thick, sugary cookie “crust” and the top half is gooey pecan pie mixture. Honestly I could have eaten the whole thing myself in a day, but we were able to share it with guests because it did not harden even over a couple of weeks, which is unheard of. It was one of the best desserts I have ever made, and really easy to do. A must try for any dessert lover, nut fanatic, and baking amateur.

Recipe borrowed from Jenna’s Journey (with a few minor modifications):

For base:
2 cups flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter

For filling:
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 cup light colored corn syrup
1/2 cup butter
4 eggs, beaten
2 1/2 cups pecans, chopped roughly
2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine flour, white sugar and salt in a bowl. Cut in 3/4 cup butter using a pastry cutter until it resembles fine crumbs. Spray a 9*13″ pan with non-stick spray, press mixture evenly into the pan. Bake for 18 minutes, or very lightly golden.

In a saucepan, combine 1/2 cup butter, corn syrup and brown sugar. Bring to a boil over medium, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.

Beat eggs in a small bowl. SLOWLY add about 3/4 cup of the hot mixture while stirring continuously. Once eggs are tempered add egg mixture to corn syrup mixture. Stir in pecans. Pour evenly over base. Bake for 30 minutes or until filling is set. Remove from oven and cool.

She added ganache on top which is perfectly fine, but instead I added a few chocolate chips in the filling and I preferred the hint of chocolate.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

