Choco-Nut-Banana Bread

This is a very exciting weekend here in Chicago…I’m having my first visitor!! Well my first visitor other than Susanne, who doesn’t count because she is my mother. But, one of my best and oldest friends is coming into town! Since she is being such a great friend by visiting me in the windiest of all cities, in the coldest month of the year, I decided to reward her with homemade “Choco-Nut-Banana Bread”. It’s the perfect treat for a quick breakfast or snack while we run around the cold city all day, or it’s the perfect late night snack for a Saturday night. Banana bread is surprisingly really easy to make, you can use overly ripe bananas, and you can add whatever you would like (frozen berries, different type of nut, pumpkin, etc). I did a combination of two recipes that I found online, and it came out perfect — moist, and yummy.

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup sugar
2/3 cup diced walnuts
2/3 cup mini chocolate chip
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 large ripened bananas
1/2 cup butter
2 whole eggs
3 tablespoon half and half

1. Hand mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, walnuts, chocolate chips, and vanilla extract in mixing bowl until chocolate chips and walnuts are evenly spread out throughout mixture.
2. In another bowl, mash bananas and add to the main mixing bowl. *I did this by hand & then with a fork
3 .Soften the butter (I microwave for 20 seconds) and add to the main mixing bowl.
4. Add two whole eggs to main mixing bowl.
5. Mix all ingredients together by hand *I used a hand mixer* until it has a batter-like consistency.
6. Pour into greased loaf pan. *I used PAM and sprinkled with flour
7. Let mixture set for at least 20 minutes before baking (Preheat the oven to 325°F).
8. Bake at 325°F for 65 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
9. When finished baking, it is best to let it set overnight before serving.

You can also put it in the freezer, and then put it in the over to warm up again before serving.
Recipes borrowed from here and here.
chocchipbananabread
Leave a Reply

